

June 1, 2022

Dear alumni,

I am quickly approaching the two-year mark of my Deanship in the Faculty of Science. This time included leading the faculty through some difficult times during the pandemic and I appreciated the extraordinary efforts of our faculty and staff to deliver quality learning and face-toface laboratory experiences throughout this time. As alumni I am certain you can reflect on your time here and recognize faculty who are dedicated to the student learning experience with unwavering commitment. This dedication was key in empowering Science to weather the disruption of the pandemic with continued growth and new programming. While it is impossible to highlight all of the activities we have accomplished, I will bring forward a few items, and <u>welcome comments or discussion</u> on a broader range of topics with you at any time.



Dr. Greg Anderson

Our faculty continue to do extraordinary work and are being recognized for their contributions. Dr. Lauchlan Fraser was recognized for his research activity receiving TRU's President's Distinguished Scholar Award. Dr. Lyn Baldwin was recognized for her dedication and innovation in teaching and learning, receiving both top TRU honors receiving the President's Distinguished Teacher Award, but also the West Coast Teaching Excellence Award from the British Columbia Teaching and Learning Council. Dr. Ann Cheeptham received national recognition for her efforts supporting student learning and learning success receiving a 3M National Teaching Fellowship. All are well deserved awards recognizing years of dedicated service to Thompson Rivers University, its students, and communities. Congratulations to each!

New programming has also been introduced that will soon place students opportunely into the workforce. The Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering will graduate its inaugural cohort at convocation in June, at which time Lorelei Guidos, the first female graduate of the program will be the valedictorian. Likewise, we will graduate the first group of students from the Masters of Data Science, and will be launching a Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Applied Data Analytics in 2023. Other exciting changes include a revamping of the Animal Health Technology program with updated curriculum and a name change to the Veterinary Technology Program, we received increased continuing funding for our Respiratory Technology Program to increase the number of



students, and we hope to soon extend our suite of Engineering programs to include Computer and Electrical engineering.

I am also happy to report that the Faculty of Science has completed two large undertakings: <u>a new 5 year Strategic Academic Plan</u>, and <u>new tenure and promotion</u> <u>standards</u> which reflect the diversity amongst our departments. Our new Faculty Strategic Academic Plan highlights a commitment to equity, diversity, inclusion, engagement of our Indigenous communities and learners, and the elimination of achievement gaps for marginalized students; it embraces transformative teaching, learning and scholarship while hoping to inspire lifelong learning.

The Faculty welcomes two new research chair, Dr. Mike Flannigan (BC Innovation Research Chair in Predictive Services, Emergency Management and Fire Science) and Dr. Jillian Harvey (Canada Research Chair in Fire Ecology) who will be two of the initial occupants within our new science research building to be completed this fall near the Veterinary Technology building. The Ken Lepin science building will also undergo a major renovation this summer directed at common space, student space and first year laboratories. We hope you will come visit in the fall and be witness to its transformation.

Finally, I wanted to wish the former Dean, Dr. Tom Dickinson, best wishes for his retirement and thank him for his dedicated long service. Like many of you, Tom will continue to be involved with supporting students and activities within the Faculty of Science and I am grateful to all that contribute to our student learning and success.

Sincerely,

Dr. Greg Anderson

Dean, Faculty of Science